Poetry with Miss Glen

I popped into Miss Glen’s class AGES ago and found this very moving poetry.   So sorry it’s taken so long, but here it is:

 

I hear the hate

 

Four eyes

Four eyes

FOUR EYES

 

I hit the ground

One tear comes down my face

As I run away from the hate

I made a secret place where no-one knows

I have a fear of going in public as the hate

could hit me in the face.

They abuse me

It’s horrid

Am scared

I just want to leave

But you can’t run away from your own eyes

Days go by as more tears flood my room

My fear closes me into a dark tomb

The number of days I try to stay off

From school it’s unbelievable

Until the school doors are forced upon me

I slowly open them with fear

As the hate starts to call

By: Brianna Murphy

 

 

Jenna walked into her new school

Her big geeky glasses pulled up, close to her eyes.

Kids stared and bullies said, ‘You don’t belong here, BYE!’

She lost all her friends when she moved to the city,

All she’s got left is self-pity.

She squeezed her eyes shut and whispered to herself …..

“I wish I was the same as everyone else”.

 

She sat in the back of the class to avoid getting attention.

But she couldn’t help herself

She did her homework, and avoided a class detention.

Know it all” they said.  “Teacher’s pet” they said

But she couldn’t help herself

She knew she can be better than the rest.

 

She wanted to blend in, she wanted friends

But how could she

When it seemed like everyone wanted her life to end.

 

Excuse me

I’m up here

Sorry to scare you

 

Don’t worry

I’ve heard it all

from the funny ones

to the ones that hurt

People take one look at me

and ignore everything

except for the height.

 

I’ve been hit

and shoved

Bullied since a young age

I had had enough

long ago

I tried to fight

I tried to make peace

I tried it all

But nothing ever works

 

I’m always asked

‘What’s the air like up there’

I’m always called

Names like

‘skyscraper’ or ‘cloud head’

I’ve silenced them out now

It was the best way

I still know they are there

Talking behind my back.

 

But I still walk on.

I will block out the hate

I will block out the pain

I will block out the names

I will just

Walk on.

 

 

My name is Black Man

It’s also Black Guy

That’s my name

 

My real name’s Nigel

But you’d never tell.

Because nobody calls me that,

Well, at least not to my face.

 

When people talk about me,

They remember me for the colour of my skin,

Not the tone of my voice

Not the colour of my eyes,

Not the size of my feet.

Just the colour of my skin.

 

I also have other names,

Like the names that people can no longer use

But I can tell that they want to use them.

When they call me them it’s like a knife cutting my skin

Deeper and deeper every day.

 

Some day this will stop

Some day I will be equal,

But for now,

I will just have to wait.

 

 

We are all different

Red hair, brown hair, blond hair, black hair

We are all different

Blue eyes, green eyes, brown eyes, hazel eyes

We are all different

Christian, Muslim, Jew, Seikh

We are all different

Tall, strout, small

We are all different

You are too

We are all different

Why pick on me?

We are all different

Is it because I have different skin?

We are all different

Because I am tall?

We are all different

Don’t bully me

We are all different

 

Katy Taylor

 

 

It was the best way

I still know they are there

Talking behind my back.

 

But I still walk on.

I will block out the hate

I will block out the pain

I will block out the names

I will just

Walk on.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *